Well most of you out there will not have a clue who I am (and those that do wish they did not), so its probably best if we start with me.

Its June 22nd just gone 9 am and I am in work (I work in a call centre for an Cable provider).  In between calls I am trying to write this introduction to give you all a sense of who I am and why I have decided to do this.

I am rapidly reaching the grand old age of 48 (Next Wednesday to be precise) and have been a gamer on and off since I was 13.  That’s a whopping 35 years.

Now by definition I am saying a gamer, in the sense of Roleplaying Games, Board games, Card games and Miniature Games, and occasionally computer games.

Back when I was 13 I did not consider myself a gamer, I was just a kid who had a zx spectrum 48k computer , a few years later it was an Amiga 500, a few years after that a PC and a PlayStation Console.

During my last year in school I was introduced to Dungeons & Dragons (1st Edition) and from this spawned my passion for all things Fantasy and Science Fiction.

Over the intervening years my collection of games slowly built up and my love for all things RPG related.  However its only in the last 6-7 years that things have really changed as I have become more and more involved in the local gaming community and getting into other aspects of gaming and revisiting some former ones.

I now have a large collection of games, spanning over 30 years, ranging from role-playing games, board games, miniature games, card games, dice games and also a huge back catalogue of magazines (Dragon, Dungeon, White Dwarf, Games Gazette, etc.).

These days pretty much all of my disposable income is spent on gaming related items.  So now I need to try to justify my investment.

In between all of this gaming, I have managed to find time to raise my nearly 18 year old son (who helps me spend money on games), and I also have a long suffering partner who puts up with me talking about plastic soldiers or the latest board / roleplaying / card game and adamantly refuses to play any of them.

So my hope for this site is as an avenue for me to give people the information they need to make informed decisions, but also a place for me to give the answers to the questions that I am often looking for when thinking of a new / old game.  Things like….

What is Dungeon Command, D&D Adventure System, How big are the miniatures really compared with the other game I have? Are the tiles compatible? Do I need to buy all the expansions? and many many more questions while hopefully be answered from my somewhat unique point of view.

 

 

 

